Anxiety and Society

Standard

Anxiety. 

noun
 
a feeling of worry, nervousness, or unease, typically about an imminent event or something with an uncertain outcome.
 
 
Some people are called worry warts. Some actually suffer from anxiety disorders. We all have a tendency to worry about certain things that are in our life. Money, relationships, people, food, our words we say, to the thoughts that we think. We have brains that make us over-think, not thing, lose thoughts whatever. I personally have had some anxiety attacks, meaning where I couldn’t catch my breath I started dry heaving, felt like my chest was going to cave in and it actually hurt. There was this pain that I just would have rather died. Why? Why did these happen? I was 19 years old and got out of a relationship where I thought that I was in love with this guy. I lost weight and I missed him so much and also I was losing site of my life during this awful time period. I know to some that might seem silly but that was what my body was doing. My brain was wrapped around this thought of love, myself hatred self loathing and jealously of other girls in this mans life. It was stupid I know to get so worked up over something like that. But it now as I am older amazing that I allowed someone to control me like this.
 
Also for some people anxiety just comes out of no where. For me as of right now I have been struggling with get my career started. Because everyone is looking for a paralegal with 5+ years experience and no one wants to give me a chance to show them what I am worth. Also I am very smart and I am quick and eager to learn new things. I have started to wonder if that was even the right choice. I guess not. I have also been applying to places that are in high demand. Administrative jobs are what everyone wants to do. Work in an office make some decent amount of money. Perfect right? This is a competitive job and I also seem to be slacking in this department. After so many great interviews (well I was told it was wonderful and they were looking forward to seeing me soon.) Nothing has gotten me anywhere. Not my smile, not my awesome resume, not my amazing personality. I have started to seek into a depression that I am nothing. That  I am no good for anyone. Just to be a server. I do not want to serve again but I also cannot be poor. I have cried, I have screamed. I have started yet again to have anxiety attacks. This time I have developed this condition where my back breaks out. I also still get the shortness of breath, my chest is heavy and it hurts. As an adult I didn’t think my anxiety would be like this. I have started to over think my life, I am afraid my boyfriend thinks I am a loser and he is going to leave me because I cannot get a job or worse cheat on me with someone more established. I am afraid that I will be kicked to the streets.  
 
I haven’t been sleeping good lately because at night when the brain seems to be the most active and I start to over think things, make myself sad worrying about the worst. I have these clips in my head playing like a movie sometimes I pretend I am rich if I had gotten a certain job I wanted or sometimes it turns into a bad drama movie. Its crazy how my mind works but that is what makes all of humans interesting. We all think and feel differently, we all love differently, we all show emotions differently. I may have cried a little today when I didn’t get the job I wanted because I was upset. (My back hasn’t started to itch yet so that is a good sign ….unless its a creeper and I will start to scratch later…hmm) I felt depressed, then I started to have an anxiety attack. My chest started to get tighter, then I started to think of crazy things again. I didn’t want to disappoint my boyfriend but I cannot lie to him so I still told him anyways. I feel like shit but I did it. But of course he was not upset with me. He said it happens just keep trying. Then I of course freaked out and said if I started serving it was going to ruin our relationship and he was going to hurt me. He said it is not going to ruin our relationship. We are fine. He came home just a few minutes ago and gave me a nice big smooch and said he loved me more than anything. Sometimes words make humans feel better. Well this one at least. And kisses. And of course puppies. I love puppies. 
 
I know that today so many people abuse the system and start on welfare getting assistance whatever. Feeding off the hard working classes. I am not one of those people. I have only once filed for Unemployment and that my friend made me feel like a piece of shit. I refused when I got a job again that I would never file again. I have grown up with out having much but also been living on my own for a few years I have learned to depend on myself and I have learned how to budget. Today people don’t seem to care as long as they get free money, and assistance. I know that not everyone who needs the help is abusing the system. Some people have disabilities as well as other complications that do not allow them to work. But what I am pointing at are those who are very capable to work don’t. I have seen it with my own eyes those who can who don’t. Makes me frustrated. And I chose as of right now not getting the help because I am capable of working and I am smart enough to work.  I just haven’t found the right employer to give me a chance. Or maybe as I have stated before its time for a real career change for me, back to school think things through. 
 
Anxiety really can take a toll on someone. Especially me. 
 
 
 
6 thoughts on “Anxiety and Society

  1. I couldn’t relate with you more. I am also a trained Paralegal doing something else in life now. And I have a life-long anxiety problem. Thank you for sharing your experience.

    • Its so hard and I enjoyed going to school for it and I have worked at a law office before I moved but it just clearly isn’t enough. Have you ever thought about just going bacl to school for something else or are you still attacking the paralegal field?! Thank you for your response!

      • The first law office I worked for after graduation closed. The second one downsized me. I have honestly had better luck with non-firm jobs, but ones that do require some legal experience. I wish you luck and many creative options in your search. And, oh how I wish more school was an option…

      • Thank you! Don’t ever doubt yourself if you want to go back to school do! I know money can be an issue that is really what is holding me back too. I am so afraid of not being able to get more loans. I am in debt with a degree and nothing to show.

  2. theveganmuffinwoman

    Anxiety is with me every day too. It’s hard. I understand what you’re gong through. My mind has greater power over my body than I care to let on!

    • It is such an amazing thing the mind isn’t it? I mean I enjoyed psychology, criminology and forensic psychology too but myself I feel is like a mystery. I know what I can do to make a change not to have such anxieties but they just keep coming back! Its so scary to know that we are capable of thinking and feeling such things. BRAINS.

Leave a Reply

