Why Writing Makes Us Better People

Standard

Because writing can help heal you or at least get some of the demons out of your system.

Thought Catalog

My English teacher told me, on more than one occasion, that I was not special by any means. He was almost certainly referring to the low level of effort I put into my writing assignments, but it was ninth grade, and my failed athletic career was no secret, so I took this as a personal attack. Now, this does not work for everyone, and can be especially tricky if you find yourself being physically tossed off of a high horse, but being told that you are wrong about yourself can also be a catalyst with an empowering reverse opposite effect.

It was in the same flimsy, wooden desk where I was put in my place on the first day of Freshman English class, that I fell in love with writing. Though it was initially an attempt to prove an un-happy teacher wrong, it would later impact me on a much…

View original post 1,157 more words

One thought on “Why Writing Makes Us Better People

Leave a Reply

